BLACKHAWK SCHOOL DISTRICT 500 BLACKHAWK ROAD BEAVER FALLS, PA 15010

BOARD OF SCHOOL DIRECTORS VOTING MEETING

Blackhawk High School Auditorium May 21, 2009

PRELIMINARY MATTERS

Richard Caputo, President of the Board of School Directors, called the meeting to order at

7:30 p.m. Roll call was answered by five members. Those in attendance were:

Mr. Caputo Mrs. Lambert Dr. Miller Visitors -111 Mr. Emge Mrs. Wagoner Mr. Brandenburg Press - 1

Mr. Fitzgerald Dr. Kasunich Mr. Young

Mr. Barsottini, Mr. Gabauer, Mr. Klein, and Mr. Oswald were absent.

The opening prayer was given by Pastor Tom Ranney, Chippewa Alliance Church, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion (Mrs. Lambert, seconded by Mr. Emge) to approve the minutes of the meeting on May 14, 2009

Roll Call Vote: 5 – Yes; 0 – No; Motion Carried

PUBLIC RELATIONS AND COMMUNICATIONS

Highland Students of the Week were recognized:

| WEEK OF | 6 TH GRADE | 7 TH GRADE |
|----------------|---|---|
| April 13, 2009 | Joseph Campagna Madeline Portzline Stephen Rakus Jessica White | Kayla Conforti Madeline Henderson Alexa Kearney |
| April 20, 2009 | Jordan Blinn Nathan Piocquidio Abagail Shope Brandon Zupcic | Tory Delmonico Makenna Malinowski Daniel Pagani |
| April 27, 2009 | Adam Kantz Morgan McKenzie Marissa Morrison Leza Quiambao | Nadine Elantshe Justin Larrison Ciara Sichak |

Performance by BHS Jazz Band

Performance by Expressions

Presentation of student Latin awards: Jessica McGhee, Molly Watterson, Max Levine, Juliana

Lapek, Megan Frank, Lauren Woods, Matthew Pulleo, Paige Burke, Jade Robison, Kelsey Yorke, Tara Dillan, Kailin Keegan, Jessica Beatty, Katrina Rekrut, Adam Mihalcin, Anthony Pulleo

Commendations to Adam Mihalcin, finalist for the National Merit Scholarship. Additionally, Adam was awarded 50% tuition at Carnegie Mellon University.

Commendations to the students who placed at the Technology Student Association (TSA) conference. They are, Level I, Blake Dulick, Jake Gibson, Caitlyn Glover, Crystal Glover, John Musser, Katie Palmer, Matt Pulleo, Kristin Reda, Dan Warnaka; Level II, John Bernard, Melody Funkhouser, Dan Gillin, Frankie Mitchell, Randy Rowe, and Julia Watson. Additionally, Blake Dulick, Crystal Glover, Matt Pulleo, Dan Warnaka (2 events) and Frankie Mitchell have qualified to attend the National Conference in Denver, Colorado in June.

Commendations to the teams of students who competed at the Robert Morris University Computer Programming Contest. Taking first place were Anthony Caratelli, Ryan Copeland and Nathan Flowers. Taking second place were Leah Ali, Jenna Huston and Kelsey Mihalcin.

Commendations to Heather Ferguson for being honored as one of three students selected as Graduate Student of the Year at Slippery Rock University.

Commendations to Rose Niklewicz for being awarded the \$1000 Student Athlete Scholarship sponsored by Nick Crivelli at the Beaver County Sports Hall of Fame banquet.

Commendations to Mark Stepanian on being recognized for outstanding athletic achievements at the Beaver County Sports Hall of Fame banquet.

Congratulations to the Men's Tennis team on winning the Section Class AA, Section 2 championship and the 2009 MAC Team Runner-up.

Congratulations to Matt Greiner and Tyler Starn who recently won the Section 2 AA tennis doubles championship.

Congratulations to Matt Greiner who received a silver medal in the Section 2 AA tennis singles championship.

Congratulations to the Men's Baseball team on winning the Class AAA, Section 1 championship.

Congratulations to Ben Rawding and Mike Pearson who both recently pitched a No-Hitter baseball game.

Congratulations to Lacey Schoeneweis who was the girls overall MVP at the Beaver County Track Championship. She won the 100 and 300 hurdles and set a school record in the 100 hurdles.

PUBLIC COMMENTS

Comments made by: Mrs. Rastatter, Mrs. Stepanian, Mr. Hamlin, Mr. Clendennen, and Mr. Calabria.

FINANCE COMMITTEE

Motion (Mr. Fitzgerald, seconded by Mr. Emge) for the financial report as submitted.

Roll Call Vote: 5 - Yes; 0 - No; Motion Carried

Motion (Mr. Fitzgerald, seconded by Mrs. Lambert) for the payment of bills as submitted.

Roll Call Vote: 5 - Yes; 0 - No; Motion Carried

Motion (Mr. Fitzgerald, seconded by Mr. Emge) for a contract with a parent to transport her daughter to Summer Camp at the Keystone Blind Association, Sharon, PA.

Roll Call Vote: 5 - Yes; 0 - No; Motion Carried

Motion (Mr. Fitzgerald, seconded by Mrs. Lambert) for public records' fees for specialized documents, for example, but not limited to, blueprints, color copies, non-standard sized documents, to be the actual cost of reproduction.

Roll Call Vote: 5 - Yes; 0 - No; Motion Carried

Motion (Mr. Fitzgerald, seconded by Mrs. Lambert) for Cottrill, Arbutina and Associates, P.C. to audit 2008, 2009, and 2010 real estate tax duplicate receipts.

Roll Call Vote: 5 - Yes; 0 - No; Motion Carried

Motion (Mr. Fitzgerald, seconded by Mrs. Lambert) to appoint Mr. Jeffrey Emge as School Board Treasurer per Sec. 404 of the Public School Code of 1949. The term is for one (1) year beginning July 1, 2009.

Roll Call Vote: 5 - Yes; 0 - No; Motion Carried

BUILDINGS AND GROUNDS COMMITTEE

The agenda listed a recommendation for an Act 34 Public Hearing. No action was taken since no motion was made.

The Board adjourned at 8:42 PM.

Eric Brandenburg

Board Secretary