Superintendent Search
Dear Blackhawk Community and Staff,

Your local school board is about to launch a school superintendent search, and I have been selected to lead the effort.

My name is Dr. Edward Albert, former educator and school superintendent now serving as Executive Director of the Pennsylvania Association of Rural and Small Schools.  I am eager to get acquainted with as many of you as I can during this process because your input will have a crucial impact on the school board’s ultimate hiring decision.

I have created three activities for school and community involvement. My first priority is visiting schools (a date will be given shortly) to talk with staff. Next, I have planned a community night on to hear more about your interests and requirements for the next superintendent.

If you are unable to attend, you still have the opportunity to contribute. I have created an online survey to collect your thoughts and opinions. The survey will be accessible on the district website until October 31. I hope many of you will take the time to weigh in. We need to hear from you.

I look forward to conducting this search and working toward the ultimate goal of identifying the best candidate for your district.

School Board

Latest Board Activity

Board of School Directors

Meetings of the Board of School Directors are held on the second and third Thursday of each month unless otherwise advertised. All meetings are held in the BHS Library unless otherwise posted and begin at 7:30 PM. Members of the community are welcome to attend.

Region I: Darlington Township, Darlington Borough, Enon Valley, South Beaver Township, and Chippewa Township District #4
John Battaglia (Term ending in 2023)  [email protected]          
Rachel Cline  (Term ending in 2023) [email protected] 
Lynn Kalcevic (Term ending in 2025) [email protected] 
Region 2: Chippewa Township District #1 and 2 and West Mayfield

 Dr. Frank Makoczy (Term ending in 2025) [email protected] 
Andrew Huzyak (Term ending in 2025) [email protected] 
Kathy Helsing  (Term ending in 2023) [email protected] 
Region 3: Chippewa Township District #3, Patterson Heights, and Patterson Township
Dan Jones  (Term ending 2023) [email protected] 
Gwen Deluca (Term ending in 2023) [email protected]
Roberta Mansell (Term ending in 2025) [email protected] 

Public Records

View text-based website